Nokia Lumia Pre-Launch Party

1

February 14, 2012 by Fiqi

1

This post is out of date actually, I supposed to review this event about a week ago. But I’ve been in the middle of something busy which I can’t remember what actually I’ve been doing during that time haha. It’s just everything moved really fast, perhaps I was overwhelmed to keep everything in motion. I was like programmed automatically to get things done without realize what’s matter. Well, let’s begin the main topic.

So Nokia made a smooth entrance in introducing their new Windows Phone Mango based product, Lumia. Two of their pre-launch event had been buzzing on the Twittersphere last two weeks.

First, #CodingLumia24Hours whereby Nokia embraced the developer community by organizing a record-breaking event called ‘The Amazing Nokia Lumia Developer Day’ in Bandung, early February. More than 800 developers are invited to create applications for Nokia Lumia in 24 hour time. Nokia Lumia 800 would then be given to the 8 best applications, and all applications would be included in Windows Phone Marketplace to be showcased worldwide. Given the fact that nowadays mobile applications are the main attraction in buying a smartphone, this event is quite a smart move done by Nokia.

Second, On February 7th, Nokia held their Nokia Lumia Pre-launch Party for the media and invited guests and social media personalities at Bistro Boulevard, Jakarta. I was lucky because I was invited by Narenda Wicaksono –Nokia Outreach Manager South East Asia, I got the invitation from him right after the closing of the first event, maybe it’s because I was one of the co-trainer on that event. One of the MSP from the same campus got the invitation too but he neglect to come and handed the invitation to me, so I got two tickets. I enticed my best friend to accompany me, but it seemed like he was busy with his medicine stuffs. First time attempt, he neglected, but he found a substitution for his night shift so at last he gladly welcoming me at Jakarta. What a nice friend Smile. I leaved Bandung earlier in the morning because I’ve to attend a Windows Phone Ambassador training in the afternoon. I met him at Pacific Place mall around 6.00 PM and we got there at the venue by a cab.

So like I said before, this event was held at Bistro Boulevard, –Jakarta’s newest dining, drinking, hang-out and entertainment Venue. This place is quite exceptional, it combines antique surroundings with world-class culinary experience. The cab driver claimed that the Bistro Boulevard was named Buddha Bar, and my friend continued that it was protested and forced by some religious community to change their branding because the venue was utilizing Buddha statue in appropriate place like a bar. I don’t know if it’s still functioned as a bar or not, but I still can see some bartenders, baristas, and dozens of beer bottles in its show case.

The venue is full decorated with “Lumia” design, start from the entrance, registration desk, until the main stage are full with “Lumia” ambience. We both were welcomed by receptionist who handed us two goodie bags containing Nokia-Monster T-shirt and stickers.

DSC_0047-1DSC_0052-1

And it turns out that one of the attendee got a Fuschia Nokia Lumia 800 in her goody bag. What a lucky!

Atri-2

All the guests can take a photo and get that photo with Lumia Photo frame for free. So every guest was asked to pick two their favorite color as background from provided 4 background colors and posed arbitrary. lumia0040

I picked blue and fuschia (red) color as background, the photographer gave me a voucher ticket exchange it with the printed photo by the end of event. My friend and I were somehow separated during the event, so we didn’t know what background color that we chose when we got photographed. Then it turns out that we picked the same color.. and the same pose! Haha. I picked blue color because it’s my favorite color, I chose red because it’s his favorite color. I guessed he thought the same thing too. But the pose? well I’m not sure if we have some sort of telepathy thing because we have been friend since kindergarten or  our poses were just too mainstream haha. We both cut our printed photo in the middle, exchanged and put it in our own given Lumia frame. We’re suddenly look like a bromance in that frame, but don’t get me wrong, he is already have a girlfriend and I’ve got crush on someone too.. Smile with tongue out

DSC_0060

Inside the venue, there is main stage and big screen to show some presentation and video. The entire guests are also free to try the Nokia Lumia 800 & 710. I interested with the Monster headset, I can’t help my self not to try it and the sound quality was just exceptional. The clarity was top-notch. Sure it was really tempting to have it.

4

Not only the decoration, There are also Some Amazing things like The Amazing Ice Cream, The Amazing Aromatherapy candle, The Amazing T-Shirt, and many more. All harmonized with Lumia metro design.

DSC_00557

The event started at 07.00 PM, opened by an MC, then continued by The President Director of Nokia Indonesia, Mr. Bob McDougall who delivered some speech about Nokia Lumia and Nokia Lumia’s martketing chance in Indoensia. Microsoft Indonesia’s representative also give some speech about The Nokia Lumia series and partnership between Nokia Indonesia and Microsoft Indonesia.

After the top executive welcoming the party, the Product Manager of Nokia Indonesia, Anvid Erdian presented the product in deep. He explain about Nokia Lumia 800, start from the hardware, the live tiles, the most socialized feature of People hub and the user friendly navigation, turn by turn, free voice navigation with Nokia Maps and Nokia Drive

Kresna Dewantara from Armanovus were given chance to introduce The 1st Mobile Streaming Application in Indonesia for Windows Phone, “KompasTV Mobile” and he also introduced “Plane Tix“, a windows Phone application to search airplane ticket in Indonesia.  Both applications are now available on Windows Phone Marketplace.

10

Mr. Bob McDougall, President Director of Nokia Indonesia

The auction session began after dinner. There were 2 Lumias for the auction, 1 Nokia Lumia 800 sold only for IDR 5.050.000 comes with Nokia Purity Headset By Monster (WH-930) and 12 Months XL Hot Rod Unlimited data plan. The second one was the limited edition Lumia phone. Nokia Indonesia showed the Nokia Lumia 800 White edition. which sold for only  IDR 5.800.000. For your Information, Nokia Indonesia planned to sell the Nokia Lumia 800 White edition on March 2012. All the revenue from this auction will be donated to the Indonesia Red Cross.

There was a door prize session too. it was awarded to Reza Muhammad who won the Nokia Lumia 710. and there were also 2 guests won the Nokia Lumia 710 and Nokia Purity Headset by Monster (WH-930).

It was an amazing night. literally. The Grand Launching of Nokia Lumia 800 & 710 is starting from today February 17 to 19 at Senayan City Mall Jakarta, Indonesia. Unfortunately I think I can’t make it there since there are many tasks which need some attention to be done is waiting for me.

Warm Regards,

ロフィキ S

One thought on “Nokia Lumia Pre-Launch Party

  1. Rockstar says:

    Nice post 🙂

Leave a comment